Contact us Today :  |  Donate
Become a Member

Our Team

Douglas D. Monroe, III, Executive Director:


Doug is a graduate of Woodberry Forest School (1974) and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (1978), where he was a Morehead Scholar and where he first discovered his fascination with the study of what he would later come to find is known as “worldview.” 
He is also a graduate of the University of Virginia Schools of Law and Business (1982) where he received his J.D. and his M.B.A. In addition, Doug passed the N.C. Bar Examination and earned his C.P.A. designation. 
After a long career as an investment banker in the U.S. in mergers and acquisitions and private equity, Doug began a full-time effort to establish the Praxis Circle as a non-profit, educational organization dedicated to the pursuit of worldview knowledge.


Maria Brent Jones, Managing Director:

Maria is a graduate Collegiate School (1976) and the University of Virginia (1980). While raising a family she took graduate philosophy courses in the M.L.A. program at the University of Richmond and volunteered extensively in her community. She has been assisting Doug with establishing Praxis Circle since 2015.

Mason New, Education Director:
Mason is a graduate of The Lawrenceville School (1992) and earned a B.A. in English from Washington & Lee University (1996). He earned an honorable discharge from the United States Marine Corps the same year that he started teaching. From 2001 to 2014, Mason taught English and Latin, served as Chairman of the English Department, and was the Director of Faculty Development at Episcopal High School. He also earned an M.L.A. from St. John’s College (2001) and received an M.S. in Education from Purdue University (Learning Design and Technology – 2016).
Mason is the current founder and owner of NewVia, LLC, an education technology consulting and design company. He is also the designer and manager of the Praxis Circle’s online education.                                                                              




Praxis Circle Advisory Board

John Cohen, Chairman
James Bacon
Anne Bradley
Donald W. Bush
Allen Corey
Mary Eberstadt
Frank Hill
Maria Brent Jones
Douglas D. Monroe, III
Lady Sophie Scruton
Walter Smith
Hugh Whelchel